Week 36 – Bye work, see you next year!

That’s right!  No more work for me as I am on maternity leave now!  Yesterday was my last day in the office and it was really a strange feeling to walk out at the end of the day and know I wouldn’t be coming back for at least six months.  I was not super-emotional about it, more kind of numbed by the strangeness of it all.  I think my entire pregnancy has been characterised by a feeling of disbelief that this is really happening to me, that I’m actually having a baby. My losses and failures had hit me so hard that I had prepared myself partially for a life where I would never be a mother, so even now with a giant belly protruding I still find it hard to process that this is actually happening.

I have now recovered a lot more from the shock and anger caused by the resignation of my maternity cover. Tuesday was bad, but by Wednesday I started to find the whole thing funny in a way. Even after essentially bailing out of the job and sending a legal letter to my company with some interesting claims in it, this woman then contacted me directly. I still cannot work out what the point of that was – was it to assuage some guilt, to explain herself, or because she thinks she can be my friend still? Who knows, but I didn’t reply.

My work also threw a little party for the two babies who will soon be arriving (my colleague is due a few days after me) on Thursday.  It was a total surprise and really fun so I have gone from not wanting any baby shower to having two baby-related parties in one week! Haha! And other colleagues from abroad sent me some absolutely gorgeous flowers yesterday so there was a lot of love.

I’m a bit worried that I won’t know what to do with myself on Monday so I have booked in for a 10am hair appointment with my super-fabulous hairdresser who has the best celebrity gossip stories ever.  He used to be a model years ago in London and has worked for lots of celebrities so a visit to him is better than reading any gossip magazine around. I think about 25% of his stories are true, but I don’t mind as he tells them so wonderfully!

Weight gain: I have had a big week of gaining!  I went up about 1.5kg in ONE WEEK!!  That’s more than 3 pounds for you folks who prefer it in such measurements.  I did have only a small weight gain last week so maybe I have been making up for lost time.  Also, there have been a lot of cupcakes and other such naughty things this week due to all the parties.  In any case, I feel like the bump grew a LOT this week and so I have officially transitioned into the category of feeling huge and self-conscious about it. Ugh.

Symptoms: My old friend heartburn is back again.  It did take a bit of a holiday for a few weeks there around the second trimester but now seems to be back with a vengeance now.  Acidic food and chocolate are known causes, but other things randomly set it off too so I’m having to be a bit more careful.  Also, this week has been a heatwave with every day hitting 40 degrees plus (that’s more than 104F).  Even at night it is getting down to only 25 degrees (77F).  This is the kind of weather that’s hard to deal with even if you’re not pregnant and when you are it is actually AWFUL!  Thank goodness for air conditioning!

The hot weather has also brought with it some mild puffiness of my feet and hands so I have retired my rings for a few weeks until baby comes.  I didn’t see the point of risking them getting stuck on for the sake of a couple of weeks.  I am also finding that my feet are raging hot to the point of distraction.  I have even taken to using an ice pack on them to bring some relief.  Both Dr Google and my actual doctor told me this is totally normal and basically deal with it. Great.

Eating: It has been a very random week of cupcakes, brownies and crisps at work so I don’t think it was my finest nutritional week, at least during working hours.  Also with it being so hot, hubby keeps bringing home mini-ice-creams which are amazing and totally hitting the spot.

Sleep: My sleep is more or less as poor as it’s always been, however I think the stage of my pregnancy and the heat is making me more tired.  Most nights this week hubby has come home from work or gym or whatever at about 8pm and found me asleep on the sofa.  So my nap game is brilliant even if my night-time sleep is less than average. Next week I am sooooo going to be about afternoon naps!

Movement: Baby is not engaged at all in my pelvis so he’s still doing a merry dance around my uterus throughout the day and night.  Now that he’s so big and there’s less space in there it can really be uncomfortable to the extent that it even hurts at times.  I’ve also noticed that sometimes he does a bit of a vertical stretch and I can feel him pushing down on my bladder.  That is seriously weird when it happens.

Emotions: Not too bad this week.  Very little crying other than one fraught moment on Tuesday shortly after the maternity leave replacement sent her legal document thus exiting the company. But you know, I think I would have cried at that even if I wasn’t pregnant.

Missing: Not being the size of a whale.

Purchases: Mini-ice-creams by hubby. Many of them.

We finally built the stroller last night too and it looks great.  It also looks kind of huge when it’s in the middle of our lounge room. Not long now before we will actually get to use it!!

Looking forward to: It not being so dammed hot here! Also looking forward to a couple of weeks (hopefully) before baby makes his arrival so I can do a few things around home and relax a bit too.

Best moment: The surprise baby party at work was really nice.  The baby shower on Sunday was also great, despite my reservations.  Oh and seeing the small dude on the 3D scan was wonderful!  It’s incredible that he’s practically ready for the outside world now. That little spec of embryo on the end of the catheter last November has now become an actual human being.  IVF is freaking amazing!

Exercise: Getting out of bed and going to the loo now counts as exercise in my book. Seriously.  I promise I used to run marathons although I wouldn’t blame you for not believing me at this point!

Bump update: People, actual strangers, now say things to me like “Oh you must be due any day now”.  I think that says everything.  I am actually happy these days not to be going to 40 weeks (or beyond).  Less time to get even bigger!

FullSizeRender 38
Yes, that is my kitty going around my legs as I take the photo

FullSizeRender 37
Here she is!  Just for perspective, she weighs 3.3kg which is approximately the average weight of a full term new born.  

img_7093.jpg
The view from above!

2 thoughts on “Week 36 – Bye work, see you next year!

Leave a Reply

