Week 30 – When stuff starts to get real!

Well helllooooo to the big 3-0! This is officially the week where you start thinking to yourself WTF! I’m actually going to be having a baby soon! 

A sense of restlessness has kicked in over the past few days and it makes me feel like I need to get stuff done – what stuff, I’m not entirely sure, but it needs to get done! Today we finally, FINALLY started work on the baby room.  And despite me going on and on about how my husband was procrastinating about this, when we actually started today by dismantling the bed and taking down the pictures ahead of painting I had a full emotional breakdown.

Tears.

It has less to do with the room turning into a baby room and more to the fact that this was the only room in our place that was – until now – all mine.  He owned this place before we moved here and so the design and furnishings were mainly his (and his mum’s) taste and style.  This was the room that I was given carte blanche to decorate and furnish how I wanted to.  Now of course I’ve been around long enough these days that all the rooms now have my touch on them, but still the remnants of the emotion haven’t gone away.  I’m sure I’ll be fine though once the baby room is all decorated and lovely.

Now that we have effectively gutted the room of furniture, we will get it painted next week before having some wallpaper (cute pale blue whales design) installed on one wall.  The other wall will most likely have some shelving on it so that we can add some special items here and there. Hubby was this week given a model Lamborghini car from a friend and so I think this will be the feature item on the so far hypothetical shelf.

For several hours today we went around different showrooms looking at rugs for the baby room and I think we settled on a cream one that we like.  The cot bed and drawers will arrive sometime around the first week of June so hopefully by mid-June we will be all set and ready for a baby!  That gives us a month to get the rest of our lives ready for the baby, subject to no early appearances or any other surprises!

Other than that, week 30 has involved being struck quite hard with tiredness and dizziness. I am sure this has something with the advanced stage of the pregnancy but also with the heat. The past few days we’ve had a bit of a break in the hot spell and I’ve felt more energetic as a result. So for those of you out there in cooler climes, trust me it’s better than being so freaking hot that you become a bit useless!

Weight gain: This week has been a growing week! I didn’t even need to weigh myself to know this, I am just feeling myself being bigger. But of course I did weigh myself and I gained about 1kg this week, taking me to 12kg up overall. It’s so weird how I can gain nothing in one week and then a full kilogram the next. I’m still doing okay with it though as I get regularly told that I am looking good. Someone even asked me where I was going on summer holidays this year not realising that the baby was due in July. Maybe they were just a bit clueless about belly sizes, but I took it to mean that I don’t look especially large for the stage of pregnancy I’m in.

Symptoms: FATIGUE! Oh boy I’ve been tired this week! I think this is just the way it’s going to be from now on, especially with the weather getting hotter. Most of the time I go about my day unbothered by pregnancy (if I’m not too hot), but I went for a walk the other night with hubby and I suffered such pain and discomfort it was a bit worrying. The walk was gentle, in the park like always, but my entire belly went rock hard and I had lower back pains. Braxton Hicks? Maybe. In any case I had to sit down halfway through the walk as I was in such pain. Even then I struggled to finish and I would not describe the walk as enjoyable. I felt more like I survived it. I wasn’t out of breath so it was not a fitness issue. When I got home I had a bit of a sit down and then dinner and felt perfectly fine afterwards so it’s all a mystery.

Today when we were out and about looking at rugs I also had a period where I was especially breathless even though I was not really exerting myself at all. I think I might have been a bit hot, but it was overall very strange.

Interestingly, my heartburn has completely eased off and I am so happy! I know it could make a return at anytime so I hope I haven’t jinxed myself here.

Eating: Fatigue has played a funny role in my appetite this week and I have not been very interested in eating dinner. I think it’s also the weather, but I’m most hungry first thing in the morning so I eat a fairly big breakfast and take it from there. I make sure to get a few fruits in each day and loads of fresh salad and vegetables. I am still not hugely into meat, but I am forcing myself to eat it for protein purposes. And I still finish my day off most nights with a glass of milk in bed. It always tastes nicer when hubby brings it to me like my man servant! Hahaha!

Sleep: There are officially not enough hours in the day to get enough sleep and still hold down a full time job. It’s a fact. This is not helped by the fact that I’ve hit that stage where I don’t sleep very deeply and don’t really know why. I don’t feel troubled by my size or belly, and while I do pee twice a night usually these days I don’t think that’s the issue. I can’t see it getting better before this baby comes and almost certainly not afterwards so I’ve decided not to focus on it too much. I had a good sleep last night though which makes me think that I am just going to have to hold on until my maternity leave kicks in at the end of June.

Movement: Oh my goodness, yes! The word “movement” doesn’t adequately describe what is going on inside my belly most days. I’ve taken some videos of my stomach lurching from side-to-side for various family members and even those who have had babies seem shocked by how much of a mover the small dude is. It seems he doesn’t throw his belly parties at night though – mainly during the day and in the evening so I am hoping this is reflected in his sleep habits when he comes out too.

Emotions: Apart from my tears today I have been pretty calm and serene.  I don’t seem to be particularly badly struck by the raging hormones making me cranky.

Missing: Just generally being able to do stuff independently. I don’t like having to ask people to do heavy or difficult jobs all the time. And I also miss being able to go for a walk or about town without every last person staring at me.

Purchases: Nothing! We did go to an educational seminar last Sunday run by our clinic that also had a bunch of baby suppliers in attendance like a mini-expo event. The brilliant thing about this was that baby brands like to give freebies. Lots of freebies! It was a bit like going into a gifting room with everything from bottles, pacifiers, different baby and maternity creams and even baby food given to us. I noticed that hubby must have had the midnight munchies the other night as he ate one of the sachets of baby food (those kind of wheat ones you add water or milk to). I guess that’s a good way to know what you’re feeding your child!

Looking forward to: Our appointment with the paediatrician. I have somehow managed to snaffle us one of the most popular paediatrician’s in the country, even though she’s not taking new patients. The appointment is not for another week but still I’m excited to meet her to talk about how I can manage to do skin-to-skin despite the planned c-section. This paediatrician is very pro-breast-feeding, pro-skin-to-skin and modern so I think she is going to be such a great person to have on our team.

Best moment of the week: When we were at the seminar last week, hubby was going about the booths at the event with me and I saw him pick up a sample of what I knew was vaginal cream, but he did not. Oh it was brilliant! He then asked the people there what it was for and his face as they explained was PRICELESS! He put that cream back in the basket it came from lightening fast and I nearly peed myself laughing at him!

Exercise: There has been more yoga than walking this week but that’s because it’s been too damned hot to do outdoor exercise. I did have a wonderful swim in the sea on Sunday which felt amazing! Hopefully I’ll shift that butt (and belly) of mine some more this week!

Bump update: The further along in my pregnancy the more I cannot believe that there are people out there who have no idea they are pregnant until they give birth.  Where are they putting these babies!!  There is NO WAY anyone can mistake that I am pregnant these days!

Side note: Say goodbye to the bed in these pictures as this is the baby room and I took these photos last night so the bed is no longer there!  But see below for a bonus bump view option this week with my cheeky kitty…

FullSizeRender 23
The innie (belly button) is getting closer by the day to being an outie!

FullSizeRender 24
I am fully front-loaded with the bubba! 

IMG_6817
Bump view – I can still see my toes (and put on shoes unassisted)!! 

 

 

14 thoughts on “Week 30 – When stuff starts to get real!

  1. Oh the belly getting hard is Braxton hicks. I got that quite often and found that I had to slow down and rest. I got those when I climbed stairs especially.

    Like

    1. I thought that might be it, but it was painful and I thought BH were meant to be painless?! Had another little “outbreak” of something similar tonight. Each was coming about 15 mins apart for an hour. I had a lie down and got a warm wheat pack thing on my back and it seems to have gone. Scary!

      Like

    1. Hubby said the baby food was not nice. Hahaha! Might give him the fruit type next time.
      Just saw your thyroid post. Mine was also v v v high 8 point something and I had to bring it down before IVF. I think it was still a little elevated at the time of IVF – something like 3? I did get it down to 1 something since then and now it’s gone back up again so they’ve increased my dose of meds (no big deal). How high is yours? If it’s borderline don’t get too stressed. xx

      Like

      1. That’s good to know, thanks. I actually read over some of your past posts about your thyroid just now! Mine was 3.11 the week before last! I was freaking out but both doctors at my clinic plus my brother’s wife who is a doctor all said that I don’t need to postpone IVF and just keep taking the thyroid meds… And I guess if I do manage to get pregnant maybe they will up the dosage. I’m on 75mg, it looked like you were on 50mg back then, though you had longer to get the values down. I never had thyroid problems before, I guess all the IVFs have messed with my hormones a bit! x

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I never had problems before either. For me it was probably IVF, and two pregnancies that ended in miscarriage. I.e. Hormones on a rollercoaster ride!! I’m now on 50mg 3 days per week and 100mg on 4 days per week. If yours is at 3.11 two weeks ago it has probably come down to at least below 3 now. Ideally you’d be between 0.05 and 2.0 but it’s not that bad at 3. So yeah, full steam ahead on the IVF I think. 😘

        Like

Leave a Reply

