Week 29

After all the fun and games of Thursday’s glucose tolerance test apparently all is fine. The clinic phoned me today with the results and I was all set to tell them there was no way I was repeating the test unless there was some actual evidence that I may have gestational diabetes, however my tough girl stance was not needed. I didn’t request the actual test results so I don’t know if I really did pass the test properly or just my doctor didn’t want me to come back to do it again and puke in his consultancy rooms for a second time. Either way, I’m not doing it again.

I ended up emailing my doctor on Thursday night to apologise for the drama and he said that I might have been sick because of low blood pressure. What?! No, I think I was sick because you made me drink the most disgustingly strong glucose drink on an empty stomach, then you poked my belly with an ultrasound! Maybe THAT had a bit more to do with the vomiting!

Anyhoo, I did ask him to confirm the weight of the baby – I swear he told me at the time the baby weighed around 1.3kg but I was about to puke at the time so who knows – but the doctor couldn’t remember anymore and neither can hubby. The doctor did confirm though that the baby is long. One of the last measurements he managed to take before they ushered me out to the ward was of the baby’s thigh bone so I guess that’s how he can work out length/height. I was a long baby and I’m pretty tall and hubby is also fairly tall too so we are hoping that our baby is not a shorty like my sister and hubby’s brother. We joke that it would be unfortunate if the baby ends up being a combination of my sister and his brother. Hahaha! Obviously neither of our siblings are aware of this joke as I don’t think they’d find it as funny as we do.

I am still annoyed that my appointment time was cut severely short  by the vomiting so I feel as though I didn’t get to really chat through the things I had planned to. I mean, I don’t really have any questions but it was all so rushed and brief that I feel a bit short changed.

My next appointment with the doctor is in a month’s time which seems to be in conflict with what all of the pregnancy apps say is the norm for the third trimester. They all say it will be fortnightly appointments from now. It’s not actually a big deal for me though as the clinic is five minutes from my house and so if I am ever concerned I can just pop in there and be monitored by the midwives and the doctor would see me if it was something properly concerning.

Weight gain: This has been another week of minimal weight gain – less than half a kilogram. Overall, I’ve gained a little under 11kg (24 pounds) and I’m actually okay with it. Even my Ovia app gave me an ovation today for maintaining a healthy weight which is nice of it. Something has changed in my mindset the past few weeks as the bump has grown but the rest of me has stayed more or less the same. I think I was always fearful that I would gain weight all over my body, but so far that hasn’t happened. I am now embracing the bump and even wearing tight clothes! I should probably caveat that by saying practically everything I wear is a bit tight. This is sometimes by design (maternity wear) but often not. Haha!

Symptoms: I had another calf cramp on Tuesday night but I was ready for it this time and hubby even managed to help me out by stretching it. This was at 5am and when I thanked him for his help the next day he had zero memory of it. What this shows to me is that he’s so used to me and my weird night-time happenings now that he doesn’t even wake up anymore.

Apart from the awful glucose tolerance test and vomiting episode, I’ve not had a lot of symptoms this week. Perhaps I’ve been a bit more tired than previous weeks but that was mainly on Wednesday as I stayed up too late watching the semi-final of Eurovision on Tuesday night. Seriously, I love Eurovision and so the tiredness was worth it. I prepared myself better for Thursday night’s second semi-final so I was not quite as exhausted today.

Anyway, symptoms… I asked the doctor (pre-vomiting episode) about the probable cause for my dizzy spells and he said it’s most likely to do with low blood pressure. My blood pressure on Thursday was 113/71 but I think it occasionally drops lower when I get very hot and/or very tired. So essentially I should stay cool, well-hydrated, well-rested and eat well throughout the day without big gaps of time between snacks. I have felt a lot better at work this week because the weather has gotten a bit hotter and this means my colleagues have been very keen to turn the AC on at work. This makes me so much more comfortable and energised at work!

Eating: A couple of nights this week hubby came home unexpectedly late from work and by the time he arrived I was completely over everything about dinner. This has led to very light dinners (overgrown snacks actually) which seem to have done me no harm. However, I did have a good hearty meal of steak (cooked well done) and salad with quinoa on Thursday night and that was particularly good after all the glucose test dramas earlier in the day. Maybe it turned out my body really wanted some actual food after that!

Sleep: I want naps!! Someone design me a work day where it’s acceptable to take naps!

Movement: Baby has really stepped up the movements this week and his kicks can be really violent now! I get some movements that are so strong my whole bump visibly moves. I have named these “belly quakes” as they are like an earthquake in my belly. It’s good that he’s moving though as I know he’s growing and getting stronger.

Emotions: I’ve been much better emotionally this week. Some of the issues that were bringing me down last week with work and conflict over the baby room have been resolved or improved in some way. Work was busy this week but not like the previous two weeks thankfully.

Missing: Nothing really. I’m all good this week.

Purchases: I think hubby might have finally placed an order for the Mamaroo. We have been mulling over this purchase for some time and I am being swayed by the fact that everyone I know who has one raves about it. Hubby also loves gadgets so this appeals to him. Let’s hope our ninja baby loves it too!

Looking forward to: Hubby finally starting work on the baby room. The first step is to dismantle the guest bed we have in there and put it in our store room. He’s giving the mattress to his parents so this might even happen this weekend. Then we will get it repainted and wallpapered. The baby furniture is delivered in the first week of June so we better get moving!

Best moment of the week: The 30 seconds I saw the our small ninja on the ultrasound scan before taking ill. He’s looking pretty cute here and seems to have hubby’s lovely lips but who knows as ultrasounds are not exactly great at picking up on these things.

FullSizeRender 18.jpg

Exercise: Yoga is getting funny now as it’s not so easy with a 10kg bump in the way, however I am not giving in yet!! Walking has been good though and I feel strong. I get a bit slow on the hill on the way home but other than that I actually overtook some people in the park the other day. Yay me!

Bump update: It really is just a big round bump up front with very little extra junk in my trunk! The bigger my bump gets, the more reasonably-sized my giant boobs look too.

FullSizeRender 19

FullSizeRender 21

FullSizeRender 20

13 thoughts on “Week 29

  1. You’re doing really well. I didn’t have to do a glucose test but ai can guarantee that I would have puked all over the place and probably passed out from hunger. I wouldn’t worry about calf cramp. I think that and a tiny bladder is nature’s way of preparing you to be awake every 2 hours.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I was totally calm about the test but I think scheduling a scan right in the middle of the potential puking time zone was a big fail of my clinic’s!!
      Calf cramp is not that bad for me so I’m cool with it. I think I’ve had an easy run so far so if all I get is a little cramp then that’s fine for me. 😎

      Like

    1. I think you had the more modest version and they only send you for this one if the first one shows up borderline. My clinic has gone all in from the start which is a bit stupid when I have zero indication of GD. Anyway, if I’m ever pregnant again I will entirely reject this test!! Haha!

      Like

    1. Just check which version they’re doing. There’s one where you only have to fast for an hour and this seems to be ok. Mine I had to fast for 8 hours and there were 3 blood tests at 1 hour intervals. Horrible.
      Good idea on the magnesium. If I eat a banana – which I don’t like – then I’m usually fine.

      Like

Leave a Reply

