Fun times with my glucose test

I’m writing this from the ward of the maternity clinic I go to as it turns out that the glucose tolerance test does not agree with me. To cut a long story short, I puked it all up right in the middle of my scan with the doctor. Fun times!

How did this come about? Firstly, for the test I was doing you have to fast from midnight the night before. Water is allowed but no food. I turned up at the clinic at 8am and they took the first lot of blood for a baseline reading of my blood glucose levels. 

Straight after I was given this delightful drink to consume within five minutes. 


Now it wasn’t that bad tasting but as far as breakfast options go it would not be my first choice!! The baby went wild with the sugar hit though with lots of kicking and belly movements. He’s a strong one that’s for sure!!

At 9am I had my regular check-up appointment with the doctor and about 3 minutes into the scan I started to feel bad. I began feeling nauseous so mentioned it and he sat me a bit more upwards. That made me worse and I then started to see stars, was sweating and was sure I would be sick so requested something to throw up in. 

He supplied a towel (WTF?!) which I then repeatedly threw up into and did a little wee at the same time. Nice. Such a lady. FYI I had a back up pair of knickers in my handbag which turned out to be a GENIUS idea!! 

Next thing I knew a nurse had been called and she arrived with a wheelchair to take me to the ward. By then I felt a LOT better having purged myself of the evil drink so was like hell no I’m not getting in that thing. I can walk!

Now I’m on the ward resting and feeling perfectly fine apart from being very hungry. I had my second blood test at about 9.20am when I reached the ward and I have one more to go an hour later before I can eat and leave. 

The most annoying aspect of all of this is that while I do have 3 beautiful pics of baby from the short scan I didn’t really get a chance to get the full low down on his stats. Doctor said he’s fine which is great. He might have said he weighs 1.3kg but I don’t know if I caught that correctly as I was too busy vomiting. 

I am REALLY hoping my test for gestational diabetes comes back negative as I don’t want to do this again anytime soon!!

11 thoughts on “Fun times with my glucose test

      1. Aaah ok. This stuff was more intense than lucozade. Anyway they called me this morning and said the results were fine. I had already decided that if my test was invalidated I wasn’t going to do it again!!

        Like

    1. I won’t lie, it wasn’t fun but actually I felt a lot better after I had thrown it all up. So don’t be afraid if you have to do one. Most people do not throw up!! I guess this means I’m not so tolerant to glucose πŸ˜‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

