Should I be worried?

I’m one day away from officially being in the third trimester and I think the baby must have got the memo too!! He seems to have upped his ninja kicks and general shuffling about inside so that now it is less of a butterfly fluttering sensation and more of a jabbing one. Sometimes I even have to check that it is in fact the baby kicking/punching and not someone else poking me to get my attention. 

Pregnancy never stops being weird. 

The latest development however came last night when I noticed I had lower back pain / achiness. This is a similar kind of pain to what I would get with period pain and also what I got during embryo implantation. It’s a pain level of about 6/10. Enough to be cranky about it, not enough to be worried. 

I wondered if this was a kind of Braxton Hicks thing but I didn’t notice any belly muscle tightening and it wasn’t like a cramp that came and went repeatedly so I’m not sure. I laid on my left side in bed for a while and applied a heat pack to my back and after about 20 minutes it pretty much disappeared. 

Both hubby and I decided it was probably nothing to be worried about but if it had been a more intense pain and gone on longer I think I would call the doctor. 

Does anyone else have similar experiences? At what point should I worry? 

24 thoughts on “Should I be worried?

  1. Ahh the joys of pregnancy and the 3rd tri. I cant tell you how many times I ended up at L & D during that time. The first trip I was hesitant to go bc I thought I was overreacting (it did end up being nothing), but after the nurses reassured me to come anytime I felt much better about it. I didnt know what BH felt like (they seem to be different for everyone) and going in helped me know since they could see on monitor what was going on. I would say trust your gut, if you feel off, call or go in. I know its a pain but baby will be here before you know it. Hang in there!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I don’t think it was serious this time. It seemed to pass quickly but it did make me wonder what I should worry about and what is “normal”. I was calm and more irritable than stressed if that makes any sense. Did you get pains like this?

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey hey congrats on the third trimester!! I never got Braxton hicks, but they are meant to be like contractions… which last for less than a minute and are intermittent. If your pain was intermittent like this i wouldn’t worry and just ask your doctor at next appointment. Also the other thing is if you can still feel baby moving the same amount then that is also a good sign. In the third trimester it is a good idea to keep track of baby movements (counting kicks setting time aside to

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah mine wasn’t like that. It defo was more of a constant ache over 20 mins or so, although it had been sore for most of the evening, just not intensively so. Baby has been so active today I thought he might be trying to break free! Haha! Good advice all round though. Thank you!! xx

      Like

      1. Midwife friend said it was pretty normal to have the dizziness because of things like the extra blood volume and also because it’s hot. The back ache is also no big deal unless it’s really, really bad. It’s probably growing pains or I’ve done too much or stress (probably stress after the week I’ve had). So that’s good at least that it’s not a big deal. Mood is defo better today too thanks. Blog coming shortly…xx

        Like

  3. Hey there! I too wondered for a long time what the heck braxton hicks actually feel like, as everyone describes it differently… I have had quite a few strange sensations during this pregnancy but none serious enough to actually visit the clinic. I am 35 weeks now and am feeling it more often so have finally realised that it must have been braxton hicks all along and the doctor said today its a good thing as it’s practice contractions for your womb πŸ™‚ the lower back pain you describe I also had a lot of at the end of my second trimester/early third when I was at work sitting for long period. Since being at home on sick leave it’s actually much better even though my bump is now double what it was at the time! So I think it’s probably completely normal but if it worries you get it checked out.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks and welcome back! I have been thinking about you a lot and wondering if you’d secretly popped the babies out without telling me. Seriously, I want to come and see you and them when you have them!!
      I think my back ache situ the other night was stress but good to know it’s not unusual. When did you get signed off sick? Any indications babies might be on their way soon? I hope you can make it to 37 weeks as that will be brilliant for them (even though it must be a kind of hell for your petite frame). xx

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I think you’re doing amazing and if Dr M is taking good care of you then I’m delighted. I think with twins it’s unlikely you’ll get to 38 weeks but if you do then brilliant! Yes please – do send me a bump photo!! I’m sure it will freak me out but I can comfort myself that I only have one inside me. πŸ™‚ Promise me you’ll tell me when they come out though!! xx

        Like

      2. Hey there and thanks I hope I can make it to 37 weeks too πŸ™‚ the babies seem to like it in my belly somehow although I am really feeling the weight by now!! I was signed off before Easter at 32 weeks and seriously feel a lot better for not sitting so many hours, in the beginning i was doing a lot of walking and yoga now the walking is too hard and I can only do about 15 mins but I swam last weekend in protaras which was amazing and hopefully will swim in larnaca again tmrw… Doctor was very encouraging of swimming so my hubby has to take me πŸ™‚ doc doesn’t like to make predictions when the babies will come but he said absolute maximum is 38 weeks assuming everything continues to look good which is completely unpredictable … I am amazed I have managed to get this far to be honest and it is getting to the point now where every day is harder so we will see how much longer I can go. Everyone is telling me I am ready to pop and making predictions but they have been doing that for about 1 month now so I just don’t pay attention πŸ™‚ I can send you a photo of my belly if you want you will freak out its mega huge πŸ™‚ xxx

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I think you’re doing amazing and if Dr M is taking good care of you then I’m delighted. I think with twins it’s unlikely you’ll get to 38 weeks but if you do then brilliant! Yes please – do send me a bump photo!! I’m sure it will freak me out but I can comfort myself that I only have one inside me. πŸ™‚ Promise me you’ll tell me when they come out though!! xx

        Like

Leave a Reply

