Week 27 – Bumping along

This week has been relatively unremarkable pregnancy-wise. I think it was a good growing week though as I can really see and feel the bump getting bigger and bigger, sometimes it seems by the second! What has characterised this week though is how incredibly busy I have been at work – probably the most busy I’ve been throughout this entire pregnancy. It was the kind of work week where I actually needed to be doing five things simultaneously in order to get them done in the time required, which of course is not possible but is even less possible when you have a pregnant brain that can only barely focus properly on one task at a time. I found myself talking allowed several times a day saying, “What am I doing?” This is not great considering I am a Director at my company so should know what I am actually doing?!

The summary is I have been leaving work quite late and when I have managed to escape I’ve been quite drained. Nothing serious or anything, but there wasn’t much room for anything else in my world this week other than work, eat, sleep. I am so massively grateful that it’s a long weekend here with Monday off as I really feel I need an extended break more than ever.

In fact, hubby and I have had a pretty relaxed day so far with some chores in the morning and I have not long woken up after a two hour afternoon nap. Honestly, I don’t think there’s anything better in this world than an afternoon nap.

The Mediterranean summer has kicked in properly this week with most days hitting the 30 degree mark (high 80s F) and, although next week looks a couple of degrees lower, I think this is how it’s going to be until around October. I do love the long summers here, but that was when I had a body that was not carrying around a human masquerading as an internal heating device. I think I feel the weather is an average of 5 degrees hotter than it really is when pregnant. I am so, so grateful this baby is not coming in August or September as I can’t imaging what kind of hell 40+ degree whether would be when heavily pregnant!

Weight gain: It’s been a big weight gain week for me, which supports my theory about this baby being on a growth spurt. One of the interesting things I’ve found about pregnancy is how the growth pattern of the baby/bump is not linear. It really does spike! So you can go a few days or a week or so and feel like not much growing is happening, then one day you look down and it’s like WHOA where did that come from? I’ve had that kind of week. No matter which way I spin it now, I’ve definitely gained 10kg (22 pounds). The thing that comforts me is that I think I look okay with the extra baby weight. Obviously the truth will be in how it comes off afterwards and what the next few weeks bring, but so far so good.

Symptoms: Until yesterday I would have considered this week a pretty low-symptom week. No leg cramps, no round ligament pain and everything going pretty smoothly. That was until yesterday at work where I had a huge dizzy session where I thought it was quite possible I might puke or pass out or both. I had this feeling right in the middle of a meeting with the other girl who is pregnant at my work (the one who is 1 week behind me and has a much bigger bump). It was probably the best person to do this in front of as actually she quickly switched on the AC in the office and fetched me a Fanta (disgusting of course, but full of sugar). I don’t know exactly what caused my dizzy spell, perhaps it was low blood sugar or overheating or being overtired or all of those things combined. In any case, after a few minutes of resting and a glass of nasty Fanta I was pretty ok. What it of course was is a reminder that I have to take better care of myself and this baby and stop dismissing pregnancy as not affecting me. This I have been guilty of throughout as though I don’t want to be seen as weak or at all impacted by carrying a baby. Amateur psychologists make of that whatever you like.

Eating: I don’t think anything remarkable happened food wise this week. One thing I have suddenly become obsessed with this week is ice lollies/popsicles/icy-poles (delete as appropriate as these are all the same thing but they go by different names in different countries). To be clear, it is not ice-CREAM that I am obsessed by but the juicy-icy ones that are made of fruit juice or something claiming to have some kind of fruit juice base. I think this is because the weather got warmer all of a sudden, but they are my guilty pleasure. I’m planning to make my own ones this weekend with fresh orange juice (that I squeeze myself), raspberries (frozen probably) and coconut water. This is entirely a recipe I’ve dreamed up myself so let’s see how it goes. If it’s any good I’ll make a recipe and post it here.

Sleep: My sleep has been pretty okay as far as my sleep goes this week. I went for a pregnancy massage on Wednesday night and it was a special kind of amazing. I think the fact I was so drained from work made me a great candidate for massage. I enjoyed it so much I drifted off for a time and woke myself up by a kind of snuffle-snore thing which must have been a beautiful sight to witness. However, not only did I feel physically better afterwards, but it had the effect that I could not have cared less about my work for the remainder of that night. And I slept wonderfully. If you’re thinking about going for a maternity massage but you’re on the fence, well go for it and I expect you’ll thank me later!

Movement: Yes, baby is quite acrobatic these days. I often see him doing all kinds of moves making my belly jut out a bit, especially after dinner. He’s most active in the afternoon/evening and after sweet, cold things. He went absolutely crazy during the massage and the lady giving it to me said it’s because more blood is pushed to the uterus so he’s kind of on a blood high. That’s cool.

Emotions: I was too busy at work to be emotional this week I think. I was listening to music on the car on the way to work yesterday morning and Kelly Clarkson’s song Piece by Piece came on. I’d never heard it before and found myself listening deeply to the lyrics. By the time it finished I was in tears and had to have a quiet word to myself before I went into the office.

Missing: Not much really. If pushed, I have to say wine. I had an after work drinks meeting on Tuesday night at a wine bar. I think I might have made sad puppy dog eyes at other people’s glasses of wine. One of the girls who joined the drinks – and who is new to our company – asked me how religiously I’m sticking to the no-alcohol rule. I said it was completely strict – no alcohol at all for me – and she seemed a bit surprised (not in a bad way). I explained that it has taken me a lot of effort to get to be pregnant (and stay that way, although I didn’t offer that up) and so I didn’t see the point in compromising the baby for something that I could do without. She then went on to tell me a story about a former boss of hers who used to go out and have two mohito cocktails a night when pregnant. I generally try and stay out of other people’s business when it comes to pregnancy and baby-rearing but I think my aghast face said it all when she told this story.

Purchases: I didn’t buy anything this week! This is some kind of record for me and really does show you how busy I have been. The new dresses I ordered last week arrived though and I love them. They are both from Seraphine. Seriously, I love that shop! I did get a phone call though that the Bugaboo has arrived! Yay! We could have picked it up today but couldn’t really be bothered (lazy) so I’ll do so next week instead. It’s going to sit in a box for a couple more months anyway so no rush to collect it.

Looking forward to: Actually starting work on the baby room! We have chosen the theme and we have a plan, now we just need to execute it. What will become the baby room is the room I take my bumpie selfie photos in. Until now it has been a guest bedroom and the only room in our 3 bedroom apartment I have had complete freedom to decorate and furnish however I like. It will be sad in a way to lose my special room, but I am very happy it’s because there is a baby on the way.

Anyway, the plan is to take out the guest bed, repaint the room and then get some wallpaper on one wall as a feature. This all has to happen before the first week of June when the baby’s cot bed and drawers/change table arrive. We are still yet to choose a rug for the room and a chair for nursing, although they can come later and it won’t matter.

I am also delighted that next week will be a three day work week for me. Monday is a public holiday and I will be taking Friday as annual leave as I have two appointments on Friday during work hours. Appointment one is a meeting with our architects who are designing our new house and will be showing us the final 3D designs. The house probably won’t be finished for another two years which is why we are putting some effort into the baby room in the apartment (not too much effort though). Appointment two is a breast-feeding seminar at my clinic. I’m not really sure what that’s going to involve but it’s run by a former midwife who I have become friendly with so I am sure it will be both educational and fun.

Best moment of the week: The massage. Easily the massage.

Exercise: It will come as no surprise that my exercise count this week has been much lower than usual. I would normally be cross at myself for this, but I know I’ve been stretched this week and so it is what it is. Next week will be better.

Bump update: Here is the bump looking even more bumpalicious than ever before. I’m starting to wonder how gigantic I’m going to be towards the end!

 

FullSizeRender 14

Kitty photobombing again this week!

FullSizeRender 13

 

16 thoughts on “Week 27 – Bumping along

  1. I hope you get some rest and enjoy your short week! Sounds lovely. You + your bump look fabulous! You look like all belly! What happened to the black sports bra? Boobs get too big? 😉 I know how you feel! I think I have gone through a growth spurt this week, too. Well, me or baby. But I’ve definitely gained more weight than usual this past week.

    Oh, I would say ice pops or popsicles. Ice cream is my weakness, especially as the weather warms up.

    I’m with you on the strict no-alcohol. Why risk it? All I’ve had is one small sip of champagne on my wedding. Otherwise, I’ll even take a seltzer over a sugary mocktail. Admittedly, a cold beer would be wonderful on these warm days. Oh well – soon enough!

    Good luck with your architect and breastfeeding class!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you lovely. I feel pretty good these days. Body confidence is at a pregnancy high weirdly. The black top is still about but is a bit tight. This one is more comfy as it’s a size up. From H&M do not a huge investment! 😎
      A bit or champagne is more than reasonable especially on your own wedding day!!
      I could have killed for a wine tonight. The weather was perfect for a cold Sav Blanc!! Come August this will be me (in between feedings etc). Hope things are also great with you. xxx

      Like

    1. I think most of my pregnancy so far has been unremarkable. Maybe someone out there decided I was due a break. Thanks for your nice comments. It helps make me feel not so weird about the changes!

      Like

      1. I don’t feel so unhappy, more just a little freaked out by these dizzy spells. More to come I’m sure!! Thanks for your kind words though. xx

        Like

Leave a Reply

