Week 26 (+1 day) – Things that go “Owwwww” in the night (aka me)

Calf cramp.

Oh. My. God.

So. Much. Pain.

I have never been one to suffer from leg cramps but on Thursday night I had two excruciating cramps in my right calf. The first occurred late at night after I had gone to bed and was asleep, but hubby was not yet in bed (he’s a bit of a night owl). I woke up to a sharp pain ripping through my leg! It was so awful that I screamed out loud “Owwwwwww!” which clutching at my leg. It was so painful that it was even beyond swearing!

Despite this, hubby did not exactly come running – so much for chivalry (maybe I do need to swear to get attention after all) – but he did ask what all the noise was about. The cramp went on seemingly forever (about a minute probably), all the while I was trying to deep breathe through the pain. Girls, if labour is anything like this then I am now actually start to warm to the fact I’m stuck with having a c-section.

The cramp did eventually subside and I went back to a restless sleep. Then again in the morning at about 6.45am I had another one, which was almost identical in pain level and duration. This time I was less shocked by it and so managed to be slightly less vocal, just huffing and puffing through the pain.

I know the advice is to stretch the calf when it happens but that was just not feasible. The best I could do was hold my leg like it was about to fall off until the pain subsided.

On Friday evening I made sure I had a banana an hour or so before going to bed because cramps can sometimes eating them can help. I am pleased to report there was no cramps that night although my calf does still feel quite tender to touch several days later.

This week has probably been my worst week of pregnancy so far, and I think that might be attributable to over-doing it over the Easter weekend. For most of the week I have suffered on an off with a slightly dizzy or weak feeling. When walking in the park on Wednesday – a walk that I don’t even know how many times I have done it is so many – I was so overwhelmed by dizziness and jelly legs that I had to have a sit-down. I ended up being in such bad shape that I had to get hubby to come and collect me in his car to take me home. He then banned me for going walking for a few days until I felt better!

Weight gain: I am still steadily gaining around 500gm (about 1 pound) a week but I am pleased it just seems to be going to my bump. I like to think this means it is all just going to magically disappear after the birth. Hahaha, I am so delusional! I’ve had a few nice comments this week from people saying I look cute pregnant, which was cheering. Also, only weighing myself once a week is definitely a good idea for mental health.

Symptoms: Apart from the aforementioned cramp situation, I think I might be having some issues with restless leg syndrome. For a few nights last week and also at work I just felt really edgy like I needed to wiggle my legs. I don’t feel pain as such, just a general unhappiness in my skin. I have, however, found that brushing my skin with a dry body brush relives the feeling which makes me think it’s circulation related. Ugh.

When hubby was at a physio appointment for his knee this week he asked the physio about restless leg syndrome, who told him that it’s caused by a variety of factors such as poor circulation (no doubt made worse by me working in a sedentary desk job – I need to get up and walk around more), swelling (though I don’t seem to have that), weight gain (helloooo!), potassium deficiency (eat more bananas) and tiredness (oh yes). Although all of this information is easily available online, I think he felt better hearing it from a professional and being able to tell me what to do to make it better.

Eating: I am really struggling with the late dinner times here that are culturally normal. It’s customary to have dinner as late as 9:00pm or 10:00pm, which is also partially because hubby comes home late from the gym and other activites which makes it difficult to organise dinner much earlier. By this time I am not only over the idea of having a big dinner because I’m so tired, but also I’m usually cranky which is not nice for anyone. I could just have dinner by myself but then I would literally never see my husband given that we already go to bed at different times. I haven’t worked this out yet.

Sleep: It’s been a terrible sleeping week! I’ve suffered from restless, disturbed sleep, either that or I’ve had a great 4-5 hours at the start of the night and then I’m practically fully awake from that point onwards. This would not be a problem if I could take a nap mid-afternoon, but unfortunately my boss and my clients probably wouldn’t be very pleased about that!

Movement: There have been lots of swishes and swirls and occasional kicks. The movements do change as the small dude grows. I can’t even imagine what it will be like when he runs out of space in there.

Emotions: I think I have felt quite let down this week by hubby. He is usually supportive so maybe it’s just a blip this week but I feel like I’ve been going it alone this week. This has been doubly hard as I’ve had a tough week. I could have done with him stepping up to take up some of the slack this week but it hasn’t worked out like that.

Missing: Some decent sleep so I don’t feel so ratty. I am also starting to feel like my capacity to do everything is compromised which is not sitting well with me.

Purchases: I bought two new maternity dresses online because the weather is shifting to summer now. Yesterday the temperature hit 30 degrees (86F) so I am needing a few dresses to get me through the next couple of months and maybe even for a couple of weeks beyond the birth.

Looking forward to: Maternity leave – even though it’s still more than two months away – so I can have afternoon naps!

Best moment of the week: Yesterday we hit the beach for the first time this year! I got to debut my new maternity swimsuit (one piece – no bump baring for me) and I really enjoyed it. Actually I felt pretty comfortable with my shape as it was very evident that I am pregnant and not just fat. I even took a very brief dip in the water! Baby’s first swim! Here’s my attempt at a shadow silhouette. I don’t know how I managed this, but somehow it looks like I’m carrying an elephant baby.

IMG_6599

Exercise: Lots of walking this week (until the Wednesday night incident). Only one yoga session though as I was not feeling up to anything on Friday night. Let’s hope next week is more successful.

Bump update: I can’t see a massive difference from last week to this week, but I can sure feel it in my body.

FullSizeRender 11
Two kitties here, but three below in the last pic!

FullSizeRender 9
Front view of The Bump

FullSizeRender 12
I finally captured all three kitties at once for you (this was a mission!)

7 thoughts on “Week 26 (+1 day) – Things that go “Owwwww” in the night (aka me)

  1. Eating on your own earlier and then just sitting chatting with hubby when he eats later? I also don’t like to eat too late at the moment either (husband is Italian and we’ve adopted the lifestyle) because I get heartburn and feel pretty unconfortable if I go to bed when my tummy is too full.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I know what you mean about calf cramps! I call them Charlie horses (not sure why…) but they strike randomly! I find breathing deeply and flexing (not pointing) your foot helps. But then you might feel the pain for a few days. I have a huge knot in my calf from walking/running yesterday and it won’t go away. I sometimes get restless legs at night, too. Those are definitely the days when I didn’t exercise enough. Aside from bananas – drink lots of water. Though I do both, and it doesn’t always help.

    Sorry it’s a rough pregnancy week for you. It happens. This week will be better!

    And, you look great – super cute! Also, I love those cats. They all look like relatives.

    I hope you get some sleep and feel better soon. hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Charlie horses?! I’ve never heard that before but I like it. I knew I was supposed to flex my foot but in the moment if felt impossible. Haha! I’ve got a preggo massage booked for Wednesday after work so will ask for special calf attention.
      It’s good advice re water and bananas. I drink at least 5 litres of water a day (seriously) so I think it’s more a banana need for me.
      Thanks re kitties. I’ll tell them you think they look related because they’re actually not. I did have a brother and sister but the girl was the one I lost last July. I tell them they’re all related though. Haha! xx

      Like

    1. Thank you!! The kitties were obsessed with me this weekend. Must be the hormones. They do look similar as they are all rescue cats and white is the most common base colour here for street cats so it’s more of an effort to get a different colour scheme going. I promise in real life they look quite different!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. ” Charlie horses” as we call them, hubby gets them a lot and he suggested standing on it, even if it’s limping around. I’ve had a few this pregnancy and trying to put weight on it helps. Staying hydrated and banana (like you said). Good luck, I think they come more frequently as pregnancy continues.

    Like

Leave a Reply

