Freaking out

By my records I will be 6 weeks pregnant this Thursday. Time feels like it’s standing still! I’ve been pretty chilled the past few days and trying to look after myself with good food and plenty of rest. I’m definitely feeling extra tired these days and my boobs are a lot more sore and bigger (hubby is very excited). 

I’ve booked in to have my scan on Thursday 5 May which will be the 7 week mark all things going to plan. But I can’t help but wonder and worry, is everything going to be alright?!!

My doctor is super-chilled about everything which is great and terrible depending on how you look at it. I’m about 1000 times more concerned about this pregnancy than the last and yet he’s not keeping a closer eye on me than previously. 

Maybe I’m worrying unnecessarily but i don’t have any morning sickness yet and I’ve found a lot of articles that say morning sickness is a positive sign for pregnancy. I even found this US study that says “miscarriage risk was increased nearly 12-fold for women 35 and older with no morning sickness.”

Crap. 

Now I cannot stop worrying. I had no morning sickness last time and look how well that turned out. 

So now I wait and worry and wait until next week’s appointment. And the Saturday after the appointment I also have my husband’s brother’s wedding. So if it all goes worst case scenario I’m only going to have a day to get myself together before I have to pretend everything is super fantastic. 

Please someone tell me it’s going to be ok. 

29 thoughts on “Freaking out

    1. I couldn’t get mine earlier because it’s Orthodox Easter this weekend and the doctor isn’t working (unless you’re having an emergency obviously). Glad to hear you’re also in the no MS boat as me. I hope it means nothing but I can’t help but be so concerned. I want to burst into tears all the time. I’m thinking to send the bloody article to the doctor but he’s so dismissive of this stuff it’s probably not worth my time. Hoping for all the best for you too. πŸ™πŸ»πŸ’•

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Congratulations on your pregnancy! I don’t think morning sickness is a given – my SIL had none for two healthy naturally conceived pregnancies. Hopefully you won’t have to have it. Xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I would say stop reading statistics but I really don’t think I can hand out advice I don’t ever take myself 😬
    I wish we could just switch our brains off with all the waiting periods, it’s enough to drive any sane person completely bonkers. It’s still early days and loads of women say they don’t get morning sickness until the 7th or 8th week of pregnancy, so it’s very possible you may fall into that category.
    Good luck with the scan & keep trying to be chilled! X

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much. You’re right. I know you are but it’s so hard not to check this stuff!! I sent an email to my doctor and his reply was SO RUDE!! He said (sarcastically) that I should do what Google tells me. I’m so angry right now, which admittedly makes a change from worried! I think hubby is going to shout at him next week when we see him!!

      Like

      1. Far out, really?! He’s in the wrong job if he doesn’t want to deal with worried women! And yes I know it’s impossible not to Google…I can’t ever pull myself away from it even when I know it’s totally freaking me out!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yes. What a jerk! I sent him a reply that my colleague helped me make dispassionate (my choice of reply was less polite) and he was more doctor-like when he responded to that. Said no point I doing more tests before the scan basically. But you’re right that I must stay away from Google. What did people do before Google??!!!

        Liked by 1 person

    1. She and I help each other out on writing emails (usually for work but not always) when we are feeling too emotional to write something appropriate. A sense checker basically! Yeah you’re right about the scan but at the same time whatever will be is not related to the scan. No reason whatsoever to think there is anything wrong with things. πŸ™πŸ»

      Like

      1. Sounds like a great arrangement! And exactly, don’t freak until there is something to freak about…although that is much easier said than done! P.s If I had a dollar for every time I reply to a post instead of a comment I’d have a good $15 by now πŸ˜‚ – Doh. Looks like it’s time to put myself to bed.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I totally understand how you are feeling. I’m almost a week behind you and had my big freak out yesterday. I can’t even imagine for you that has gone through it before. I think it is perfectly normal for you to feel this way. I can’t believe your doctor is not sensitive enough to see that. I’m sure he feels everything is ok, but he has not been in your shoes to understand what goes on with you. While I can’t reassure you (or myself) that everything is ok, all I can say is that it is out of our control. We are doing what we need to. But it doesn’t help to be stressed or negative. Try to think positive. Meditate or listen to music that helps you relax. Do things to distract yourself. When I had the urge to google how do you know if you are having a m/c yesterday, I binge watched Netflix instead. Hugs to you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for your sweet words. You’re totally right and I just need to go with the flow and face whatever eventuality there is. I think the doctor deep down does care but he’s probably so fed up with patients checking stuff online. That doesn’t excuse his reaction but I guess it partially explained it. While not good for you, I appreciate that you freaked out too yesterday! Maybe it’s normal πŸ˜‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Haha! Yes! Men are so wise with this stuff. I asked my hubby if he thought I’ve been over-emotional and he said “Yoi cried at Masterchef!!” Haha!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Yep! I’m worried about these things now and then too. About whether the baby’s heartbeat is still going strong. I even try to do silly things like see if I could feel it. Lol. But I guess it’s really not in our control so I’m trying to let go and just countdown to the next scan.

    I never thought I’d say this but I wished we could have scans every week! !

    Liked by 1 person

  5. My sister in law never had morning sickness with my niece. She is a very healthy and thriving (spoiled πŸ˜‰) one year old! I know it’s easier said than done, but try not to worry too much! Next week if you’re throwing up every five minutes you might miss not having it! Lol 😊
    Hoping time passes quickly for you. Xxx

    Liked by 1 person

      1. She is not. However, a lady I work with has a 4 year old (she is 40) and I was asking her about her symptoms with him, she didn’t even know she was pregnant until she was 9 weeks because she had been irregular and hadn’t had any symptoms prior. She said it was around then that she started getting sick all the time and went to the dr to find out what was wrong and oops. Baby.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’m better today with the worrying. It goes in phases! But I’ll try and take your advice if you agree to have some wine for me. Good deal?

        Like

Leave a Reply

